Aside

The Cookie Dude

21 Dec

Saturday evening I went to Publix to get the usual: food and beer. And cookies for a cookie exchange event at work.  So I’m standing there staring at the great wall of refrigerated cookies (you know, the preshaped cookie dough squares and such).

While pondering what the best cookie selections might be this guy that was walking by says “Awww come on – it can’t be that hard to pick out cookies.”

I honestly dreaded turning around but, to be nice, I turned, laughed, and smiled and said, “Actually it is. There are too many to choose from and I cant decide.” 

Much to my surprise he was kind of cute (bonus!) – nice, bright smile. Had a light country kinda accent too.

He tells me that I just cant go wrong with white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. He ends up helping me pick out more cookies (who cares that he chose the most expensive ones) and meanwhile I’m thinking about scrubby I look.  Hair in a ponytail. No makeup. Jeans. Flip Flops. Hoodie. Fantastic.

The convo continued for a few minutes longer and I, jokingly, told him I wouldnt have been able to accomplish the task without his help.

I thought it was going well though.  Flirting over cookies. Then he says “Alright I’ll be in the beer aisle if you need anymore help.”

And that was it.  Really – he wasted my time helping to choose cookies – didn’t ask my name and not even a fricken date? Wtf. 

So I left. 

I’m so bad at this. 😛

10 Responses to “The Cookie Dude”

  1. Anthony Corwin December 22, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I dont realy know what the guy was thinking but maybe him telling you he was going to be in the beer Isle was an invite to continue the conversation. I think he was leaving it open to see if you are interested.Next time go over meet the guy in the beer isle and get some advice on beer LOL.

    • ConnieMaria December 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Hi Anthony 🙂 I know but I’m really rusty with this stuff and I didn’t think about doing that until I was in my car lol too late. ohhhh well. 😛

  2. Mr. Sparky December 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    Very funny. yeah why bother striking up the conversation if your just going to leave it at a dead end

    • ConnieMaria December 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

      Exactly – how disappointing 😛

  3. susielindau January 4, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    Keep putting yourself out there!

    • ConnieMaria January 5, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      I sure will! I’ll need more stories lol (j/k)

  4. Anonymous January 6, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    you so fuunnnny great stories keep up the good work

  5. The Hook January 10, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    I wouldn’t blame yourself; the guy dropped the ball.

Leave a Reply

