Man vs Car

27 Dec

So…this is an oldie but a goodie.

One day for lunch my friend Crystal (best coworker ever :P) and I sat outside Starbucks to enjoy the beautiful weather and people watch. It was December 2010. Perfect SoFlo weather. And the people in Boca – well, you just have to see it to believe it.

Anywho! What car pulls in to the plaza? My absolute favorite dream car. The Audi R8 in a smooth glossy white. (*sigh*)

Of course the driver has to show off his beauty by revving the engine over and over and over… and over. I didnt mind though. The beautiful sound was music to my ears. My Honda Civic certainly does not sound that pretty. 😛

Finally, after revving the engine through the entire span of 50 ft to an empty spot, the dream-mobile was parked.

I had to wipe the drool from my mouth because that’s how much I love that car. For real. I get goosebumps just thinking about it.

Now, perhaps this is stereotypical (or I just expect too much) but you would think (or I was hoping) that the guy driving it would be smoking hot…as attractive as the car itself…

Hell to the no.

I know this will sound completely harsh but … the driver was not at all what I expected. He was a short, dorky man without an ounce of muscle wearing an Affliction t-shirt.  Dont tough, bulky dudes wear Affliction?  At the same time, I admit, I did think the shirt was pretty cool.

Up to this point, however, I feel that a ‘wtf’ is justified in this case.

It’s just not right.

Over-compensating much? Sexy car, tough-guy shirt, and little wimpy man? They just dont go together. A fiat and polo shirt might suit him better.

Regardless of the fact that I was upset that he could have that car and I couldnt, I eventually got over it.

That is, until Crystal & I walked into the Starbucks for our steamy hot lattes.

Lo & behold Mr. I’m-Over-Compensating-For-What-I-Don’t-Have  is sitting there drinking organic chocolate milk.

Organic chocolate milk! Where did he leave his manhood?! Does he cry to chick flicks too?

My kinder side would say “Aww maybe he’s just trying to look cool. Who hasn’t tried that some time or another, right?”

But really – he ruined it with the organic chocolate milk in the little red container with a cartoonish cow on the front of the carton…

There was something wrong with that entire picture.

4 Responses to “Man vs Car”

  1. Anonymous January 6, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    why you not finish story.

  2. The Hook January 10, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Perhaps he just needed the right girl to prop him up and rescue him from loserdom!
    Or not.

    • ConnieMaria January 10, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

      hahahaha I never thought of it that way! hmmm 😛

Leave a Reply

