Meeting Friends’ Friends

7 Jan

Warning: Friends shouldn’t let friends drink & drive. Friends also shouldn’t hook up their friends with their other friends. Unless they are skilled match-making professionals…and even then its still dangerous. 😛

Here’s a goodie. A friend of mine, whom I’ve known about nine years now, had a whim to set me up with a friend of a friend.

The lovely man I was introduced to was named Christophe (false name of course).  At first glance I thought he was alright. Not great but not bad either. Like a five out of ten.

It took me a little while to approach Christophe because I’m not good with the whole meeting people thing. I’m really just not social unless I’m drinking. Lucky for me I was drinking that night!

A group of us were hanging out outside of Bru’s Room in Delray Beach. I sat down next to Christophe and figured I’d start with some easy questions to get a conversation going. I felt like I was interviewing him.

Here’s how it went:

Me: So what do you do for a living?

Christophe: I’m a plumber.

Me: How old are you?

Christophe: (Ok I don’t remember his response but I’m pretty sure he was around 30-ish.)

Me: Do you date a lot?

Christophe: Not really.

So far so good! All questions were answered normally even though he had yet to ask me anything about myself. Every guy knows that when you first meet a woman you ask her about her – it aint about you. Boys – you have to work up to the you time.

Moving on. Question 4 kind of killed the mood.

Me: How long have you been single?

Christophe: Well it depends on what you call single. Hehe…hehe…hehe

Riiiight.  His Beavis & Butthead type of laugh really sealed the deal. I settled it with an “Ok then” and a fake agreeing laugh and moved on.

I learned later that evening that he had been wearing a woman’s leather jacket too. 😐 A plumber with an affinity for women’s clothing. Now, that is interesting.

Thank you darling friend of mine – it’s the thought that counts. 

Buh-bye Christophe.

6 Responses to “Meeting Friends’ Friends”

  1. susielindau January 7, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Too funny! I love that you at least gave him a chance! But the woman’s jacket would have been a deal breaker for me too!

  2. @DeadTiredDavid January 8, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Usually, when two people truly meld, it is a complete bonding: emotional, spiritual and physical. Me thinks the plumber just wants to connect at the pipe. As for the women’s leather jacket, maybe he is good friends with the Marquesa de Sade?

    • ConnieMaria January 8, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      LOL David – you have me cracking up over the pipe comment!! I had to Google Marquis de Sade – oooo he was a bad boy!

  3. The Hook January 10, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Freinds mean well, but…

    • ConnieMaria January 10, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      Agreed! They certainly do mean well. I think my friends say “Oh you’re single! I know a single guy!” and voila – it’s supposed to be a match made in Heaven 😛 I do appreciate their efforts though.

Leave a Reply

