…E-Dating…

8 Jan

E-dating has quickly become the norm for finding a soul mate nowadays.

Am I the only one who finds online dating to be discouraging?  For me, the relationships that develop via these online sites always appear to begin well (through email) but never develop into anything more. There’s only so much you can accomplish virtually. And then when you finally meet the person you’ve been communicating with for a first date, its like meeting an entirely different person. *sigh*

I’ve participated in a few different dating sites. I signed up for a three-month plan with one of them and paid $150. That’s a lot of money to find Mr. Right. In just 90 days. No pressure.

And I went on one single date. Just one. Which automatically made that a $150 date. You might be asking – “Was it worth $150?”

No. Not really. No happy endings.

It was mildly entertaining but mostly strange.

The gent, let’s call him Henry, was a bit on the feminine side. He didn’t come across as girly in his emails pre-date, though.

I hate to sound picky but … I am. I like manly men. The ones that do man things and like man things and, at the same time, have monogamous tendencies (<–hard to find). Sure you’d have to force them into watching a chick flick every now and then, but that’s the fun part.

I knew right off the bat that Henry had no hair. Specifically, a shaved head. Not a bad thing – but not really my preference. I like a full head of hair, what can I say? He seemed so great though (virtually). Nice, smart, cute…had a job… 

I could move past the no hair thing. That was my small effort to be less picky.

We decided to meet for dinner after work at a casual/nice restaurant in Boca.

This dude. He began almost every sentence with a drawn out “Wellllll” which quickly wore on my nerves. Not just a ‘well’ – it was ‘welllllllll.’  The word is one short syllable, Henry. Just saying. 😛

When it came time to order he went first. I was curious to see what his drink of choice was.

He didn’t order an alcoholic beverage. Damn. I really wanted a drink drink. It helps with the first-date nerves. Since he didn’t order a drink drink, I didn’t. Coca-Cola it was! I love Coke!

Henry’s food choice for our dinner date was a sandwich. I would’ve felt awkward ordering a more expensive dinner entrée when he was getting a sandwich so I ordered a burger & fries.

Looking back now I must have lost my independence somewhere along the way to the restaurant. I should have ordered exactly what I wanted. Not sure what happened there. Even so, I’m all for comfort food. Cheeseburger, fries, & coke? Oh yeah.

While eating we encountered that awful uncomfortable silence. I was picking at my french fries out of boredom when he mentioned that he had some really funny dating stories. I agreed to hear them. It would be nice to eliminate that awkward silence.

He had recently gone on a date with a woman who looked very different from her online profile pictures. Pretty typical-it can happen. Some people refuse to upload recent photographs. But that wasn’t all. The woman was actually handicap and he wasn’t sure how to handle that. Being a good man, though, he follows through with the date.

He tells me that his date drank to oblivion and that he was shocked that anyone would do that on a first date (good thing I didn’t order a drink! :P).

So the time comes for him to drive her home. He helps her out of the car (she required more assistance than normal due to her high intoxication) and she tells him how badly she has to peeeee (Sound familiar – from the Pee Loser story?). Unable to make it to her apartment door she squats on a nice grassy area and gives herself completely up to nature and its calling.

Hearing that story while eating dinner was not entirely appetite killing but just plain weird. Truth be told, each bite of my cheeseburger was more juicy and exciting than this horrid date.

It didn’t work out for Henry and I for a few reasons.  One being that he had no hair. Sorry guys – turns out that hair really is important to me.

Besides that – Henry was a nice guy but too feminine for me. If I need girl time I’ll call my best girl friends. 😀

8 Responses to “…E-Dating…”

  1. susielindau January 8, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Dates from Hell! At least you got a free meal out of it!

    • ConnieMaria January 8, 2012 at 11:08 am #

      Heck yeah! That was a delicious cheeseburger 😀 lol Thanks for reading 😉

  2. Anonymous January 8, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    that was not a free meal that was a buck fifty burger and coke

    -D

    • ConnieMaria January 8, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      Ah – good point. Wellllll (:P) it was one hell of a cheeseburger 😀

  3. Megan January 8, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I did a dating site once… a free one at that… Got on there Jan 1st… pulled my profile down Feb 1st. Went out with one fella several times, he turned out to be a dog… I never went back to “online” dating. The process of talking to people was “entertaining” to say the least but creepy at times too! I’m just not sold on it myself!

    • ConnieMaria January 9, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

      Hi Megan! Thanks for the comment. 🙂 I agree – its definitely entertaining at times but there are some weird ones out there. 😛 I thought about trying it again because I never get out but … I dunno. Looking back at my experiences they weren’t too great but they were funny 😛 (See you around! I followed you on Twitter and I followed your blog :))

  4. The Hook January 10, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    The modern dating world isn’t for everyone it seems. You’ll find Prince Charming without a cyber-godmother, I’m guessing…

    • ConnieMaria January 10, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      🙂 Oh here’s hoping 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

