All in one Night

10 Jan

I was meeting a couple of friends for drinks at an Ale House in Boca. They were running late…like an hour late. There I was sitting alone at a bar. Something I would never do by choice. I always had the mindset that a woman at a bar alone was either desperate or looking for work.  Is that wrong?  Probably so. While sitting at the bar I had the chance (opportunity) to meet quite a few interesting people.

Despite the fact that I only experienced a brief amount of time with each gentleman these encounters are noteworthy nonetheless.

Each incident below happened all in the same night – at the same bar – within an hour and a half.

Jitterbug

First, Mr. Jitterbug. Jitterbug was either unfortunately diagnosed with ADHD or he was high on something. He first walked by and glanced at me and then turned around and walked back. He introduced himself which was nice because some men go right for the cheesy pickup lines. I didn’t want to be rude so I engaged in some conversation. Why not? I was alone anyways. He was fidgeting the whole time and could not remain still to save his life. So that made me pretty tense – then I couldn’t relax and stay still to save my life. He invited me to hang out with his friends and I politely declined. Jitterbug gave me his business card and said he’d love to take me to lunch. Nice guy but too…active…for me.

Taking Bets

Next, the random bar bet. A couple seats down were a man and woman. The man was very handsome. I thought to myself, “if only he would talk to me!” Isn’t that how it always goes though? For a split second I considered saying hello but I was in no mood to make a first move. I was still a little agitated that my happy hour dates were late.

It looked like the man & woman were coworkers or friends. They kept looking at me so I wasn’t really sure what to think. Was he interested? Were they talking about me sitting all by myself? 

My guesses were far from correct.

The handsome man turned to me and said “hi.” I was a little dazed that he actually spoke to me, to be honest. I said hi to him and his lady friend. Next he says:

“So we have a question for you.” 

I was kind of grateful to have someone to talk to so I said, “Sure thing – shoot.”  

“Ok so my friend and I have made a bet. Are you waiting to meet a man? Or a woman?”

**Sigh**

I say “A woman – two girl friends actually.” I don’t remember who won this ridiculous bet but I decided to close my tab ASAP. So disappointing. I should have just stayed home.

A Duet

Just when I thought I was alone to enjoy my nicotine fix outside, and alone for a moment to collect my thoughts, I met Thing 1 and Thing 2. Here’s how the conversation happened.

Thing 1: “Excuse me? What’s wrong? You look so melancholy.”

Me: “Hi – yeah I’m a little angry – my friends are an hour and a half late for happy hour.”

Thing 1: “Wow – some friends huh? I would never do that.”

Me: “Well you know – it happens sometimes.”

We talked a little about our occupations and as he spoke I sized him up a little. The shoes got me. Suede loafers…no socks. I find that to be a little gross – especially down here in South Florida where its hot and humid. I don’t know about you, but the first thing that comes to mind is stinky sweaty feet.  My gaze was intensely transfixed on the shoes when Thing 1 said:

“You’re not like a typical Boca girl – you’re different…in a good way.”

If he only knew what I had been thinking…

Me: “Now how do you know that? You just met me.”

Thing 1 was absolutely certain that he knew me well and he could just tell that I’m a super nice girl. Its amazing really. The more rude I was – the more he thought I was absolutely great!  Strange…

Thing 2 approaches and invites me to Max’s Grille over in Mizner Park.

Me: “No thanks. I’m still going to wait for my friends”

Thing 2: “Oh you’re meeting friends?” Thing 1 fills him in on the situation. “Well you should come hang out with us since your friends stood you up.”

Me:  “Yea I don’t think so. I don’t really know you guys that well”

Thing 1: “Oh come on it’ll be fun!”

Thing 2: “Yea you can ride with me”

Me: “What? No way – I don’t know you & you want me to get in your car?”

Thing 2: “Smart girl – ok give me your number.”

Me: “Um no.”

Thing 2: “Ok well you should meet us over there with your friends.”

Me: “Yea! Sounds good – I’ll see you there.”

As soon as my friends got there I grabbed a quick drink with them and then headed home.

What a tiresome night.

4 Responses to “All in one Night”

  1. The Hook January 11, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    The single life rocks, right? The Bar Bet couple sound like a pair of morons! You could have really had some fun messing with their heads, though… it just depends how adventurous you were feeling!

    • ConnieMaria January 11, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      Oh yes-it rocks 😛 I should’ve messed with them a little but I was pretty angry at that moment. lol next time gadget! 😉

  2. susielindau January 11, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    If they were cute, I would have dragged my girlfriends over there.
    The dating scene may have changed a lot through the years; a lot scarier than when I went out!

    • ConnieMaria January 11, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      They weren’t cute lol and by time my girlfriends got there I was over the whole night ya know?

      Dating used to be easier. Now it’s really just … challenging 😛

Leave a Reply

