Thank you, friend

11 Jan

My darling friend, we’ll call her C, enjoys her time at the gym along with her hubby. We all know that the gym is a great place to meet people. I think some people refer to gyms as ‘meat markets’?

There’s this guy that goes to the gym that C & hubby go to. We’ll call him John. For quite some time C has wanted to hook me up with this John guy who aspires to be a bodybuilder and is a mechanic in the meantime. I’m not one for muscle-y guys (yes I know – I’m well on my way to being the pickiest person in the world at this point) but I was mulling the idea over.

One night they’re talking to John about me and he’s saying how he really doesn’t have time for a girlfriend and my good friend states that I don’t have time for a boyfriend either. As I’m listening to C tell the story I’m touched that she would try to hook me up with a man she feels is up to par, ya know? I’m also impressed that she didn’t make me sound like a desperate, deprived, and single friend!

Well…that was my feeling right up until she got to the part where she tells John “oh that’s ok, Connie just wants someone to hang out with and hook up with once in a while.”

😐

Annnnd that’s when I took her friendship level down a notch. (Just kidding)

Apparently that perked his interest. Shocking.

As if I thought it couldn’t get worse, C also suggested to John that by dating me it might inspire me to head back to the gym.  What’s that suppose to mean, C? Gotta love friends. 🙂

Oh and beware! C did not fail to mention that I used to be in Navy ROTC in High School. That shed light on a whole new possibility that I might just be able to kick his butt. (Doubtful)

Wait a second. ROTC…how many years ago was that exactly? Many.

Eventually I got up the nerve to say: “Sooo you made me out to be a tough whore?”

Now don’t get me wrong – I’m not upset.  I’m a little disturbed but amused at the same time.  Needless to say I scratched John off the list.

Next! 🙂

6 Responses to “Thank you, friend”

  1. Anonymous January 12, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    got my interest perked…. hookin on up…… -D

  2. The Hook January 13, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    You have a great sense of judement, young lady. Keep it up!

  3. peterhobbs1 January 13, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    OH my, what are friends for LOL. I bet he perked up with he found out from C that you just wanted to hook up once in a while. I sympathize with you Connie, I would not want to be youngish and single nowadays, way too much pressure from all around. Great post, I look forward to reading more.

    • ConnieMaria January 14, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Lol after my friend, C, read this she told me that guy is still interested in meeting me. Hmmm. No thanks. 😛 Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

