High School Non-friend

15 Jan

Social networking has a knack for reintroducing people you were barely acquainted with years ago. In my experience they’re mostly people I wasn’t exactly friends with.

However – anyone can be friends on Facebook or Twitter or whatever other platform you choose. Does it really matter if you weren’t friends before? Naaa. Recognize the person’s face and/or name? Never met them before? Either way – zip over a friend request!

Now, you know there’s a story following this, right? 😛

Fyi – it’s not very smart to post your phone number on your Facebook profile.

Lesson learned.

I received a random text one weekend from an unknown number. Turns out that this guy I went to school with years ago – that I was never friends with at all – felt the need to text me. Then he told me I should remove my number from FB.

Yeah. Thanks dude.

Then he decided we should hang out. Why? I didn’t know you then – what makes you think I want to know you now?

Ok – so I’m a little rude. I’m a Leo – I can’t help it.

This same guy, believe it or not, lived in the same apartment complex as me at the time. I was catching some sun one morning (that was the quietest time to lay out at the pool) and this gent walks into the pool area with a girl (I assumed it was his girlfriend). He kept staring at me. It was creepy. So I left.

He emailed me on Facebook asking if that was me by the pool. So I decided to be nice and email him back saying the usual BS stuff like: “Yeah that was me. Wow small world huh. I’ve been living there for a few years now. How long have you lived there?”

His response…

“First and last year here [at the complex] – my girl is moving out soon. We have known each other 4 years now. More really good friends than in a relationship. I stay away from relationships – nothing but trouble.”

Okaaaaaaaaaaay…?

I didn’t really get it. So I just didn’t respond. I heart avoidance.

8 Responses to “High School Non-friend”

  1. susielindau January 15, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Social networking can be a scary place….

  2. peterhobbs1 January 16, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    I didn’t like anyone I went to school with so it has made the Social Network issues a non starter for me, as well as class reunions. I am glad your experience taught you a couple of things, but you have to admit, it makes for a great post.

    • ConnieMaria January 17, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      lol I didn’t like most people I went to school with – a handful, yes. Class reunions – eek. 😛 Thanks for reading my blog post Peter!! 🙂

  3. Pete Denton January 16, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    When I log onto those twitcleaner type programmes they say, imagine what it would be like if 2,000 people actually followed you. 2,000? One is scary enough.

    I prefer social networking as you don’t have to deal with people in real time. I like events to unfold when I want them to unfold.

    • ConnieMaria January 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      Agreed! One is definitely scary enough! I think you made a great point about real time and dealing with people. I’m not a people person soooo I like that characteristic of social networking as well. I’m just glad there are opportunities to ‘block’ or ‘ignore’ or ‘delete!’ 😛 Appreciate the comment – thanks Pete!

  4. The Hook January 18, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Sometimes I’m ashamed of my gender….

Leave a Reply

