Fried Bok Bok

1 Feb

My beautiful niece and nephew call chicken “bok bok.” Adorable? Sure. Catchy? Hell yes.

So one lonely evening I didn’t feel like cooking for one … and plus, I was craving fried chicken.

I don’t think anyone knows it but I’m the worst bok bok cooker in the continent. I always overcook it because I’m afraid of it being raw. The thought of biting into raw meat makes me cringe.

What are my options for fried bok bok at 8 o’clock at night? Publix or KFC.

I opted for Publix – less greasy.

Dragging my scrubby self into the grocery store I followed the aroma of rotisserie and fried bok bok.

Much to my dismay there was only one container of fried bok bok.  And it held in its possession 16 pieces of crunchiness.

Sixteen!

As the dramatic characters in a movie might do – I put my hands on my head and screamed “Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy?!”

Ok I didn’t really but – I was thinking it.

Being antisocial has had an adverse effect on my dating life. Who knew?

I had to muster up the will to talk to the Deli dude who proceeded to flirt with me by way of bok bok.

Me: “Excuse me, do you have any other fried chicken? Like a 6 piece?”

Deli dude: “Well hello. There’s fried chicken right there.”

Me: “Yes but it would be just for me. I’m only one person. I can’t eat 16 pieces of fried chicken.”

He laughs. I didn’t really find it that funny. I just wanted my fried bok bok.

He continues to say that I can have it for lunch the next day and then for dinner, etc.

Me: “Lunch the next day?”

Deli dude thought he was being nice and accommodating and funny. “Yesssss. Have fried chicken tomorrow too!” He grinned.

Actually I don’t think he stopped smiling at me. Weird. I wondered if he was like that with everyone… 😐

Rude people = normal (rude behavior I expect from people here).

People that are too nice = odd (I proceed with caution).

Me: “You realize that is 16 pieces right? I’ll eat one piece tonight and one tomorrow (possibly 2). That would leave approximately 13 pieces of uneaten fried chicken.”

Can you imagine your anger level rising over a conversation concerning fried chicken?

All I gotta say is don’t mess with a hungry person … they get crazy. 😀

I decided to throw in the white flag. Mission: Fried Bok Bok proved to be Impossible.

Deli dude simply couldn’t comprehend that (1) I don’t eat a lot (2) I required a small quantity of fried chicken and (3) he was wearing on my nerves.

And no, he wasnt cute. 😛

8 Responses to “Fried Bok Bok”

  1. bwtaylor75 February 2, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    I don’t know what kind of music you listen to but I bet that you would really enjoy a band called New Years Day (their older stuff anyway). Go to http://www.purevolume.com and stream or download (they’re free!) the songs Ready, Aim, Misfire and I Was Right. The lead singer took her boy troubles and made music out of them.

    Anywho! (do you see what I did there?) You’ve got a brutally honest blog that I find myself laughing along with. Nice work and keep writing, you’ve got a knack for it.

    • ConnieMaria February 4, 2012 at 12:49 am #

      I see what you did! lol Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m glad this post made you laugh too 🙂 And thanks for the compliments 😀

  2. The Hook February 3, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Too bad he wasn’t cute…
    But at least you walked away with blog fodder!

    • ConnieMaria February 4, 2012 at 12:45 am #

      Haha! Yes – blog fodder 😀 But noooo fried bok bok darn it 😛

  3. peterhobbs1 February 4, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    LOL I can totally relate, I meet some of the strangest people in the grocery store, but then again, I am there too. I am sure the Deli boy was thinking “just buy something and go away, I want to sit down in the back room” at least that is always the look I get.

    Great post, as always.

    • ConnieMaria February 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

      Hi Peter! 🙂 Thanks for the compliment! And yes – lol – I’m sure thats exactly what he was thinking “take the bok bok and get out of here woman!” hehehe

  4. BermudaOnion February 6, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    The people in your Publix are normally rude? They’re kind to the point of being annoying at our Publix.

    • ConnieMaria February 6, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      Hi there! Oh I meant people in general down here. Much easier to come by a grouch than a nice person. 😛 Thanks for checking out my blog 😉

Leave a Reply

