The E-Date-World: Introducing Dr. Not So Obvious

17 Feb

Every year around the much dreaded Valentine’s day I get a little lonely (I hate admitting that but it’s the truth).

And every year I end up caving in – I am convinced, yet again, to try and meet ‘Mr. Right Now’ via the E-Date-World.

A coworker of mine recently met someone on this dating site so that motivated me a little.

Well, it motivated me a lot.

He’s a really nice guy AND cute too (bonus!). Oh and he has a job – that’s the cherry on top, baby.

So last night I spent a little bit o’time completing my profile for this E-meat-market.

Another dating site! More traumatizing but hilarious dates. How can I not do it? 😀

Right off the bat I received a lot of messages. I’m truly flattered. Nice messages too! There were a few shallow ones here and there but no “hey wus up” or “dang girl wats poppin” or “damn girl u fine.”

I was enjoying reading (and spotting the spelling errors – are men notoriously bad spellers?) when I came across one message that really hit a sore spot.

Yesterday was February 16th. 2 days after Singles Awareness Day (most people refer to it as Valentine’s Day).

This jerk-face (my new word) emails me “Hey how was your Valentines Day”

Really? What kind of question is that? Lol.

V-day is typically a holiday for those who are attached. A holiday that makes me sad. A day in which I had no one to spend lovey dovey flowery moments with.

When you’re a new signup on these sites it’s not exactly a secret either soooo….he obviously didn’t think when he emailed me with that question. 

I considered writing back “You’re joking right? How do you think it was Dr. Not So Obvious?”

*Sigh*

Am I too cruel? It’s possible I read too much into things….very possible but that’s me. 😀

That is all. 🙂

6 Responses to “The E-Date-World: Introducing Dr. Not So Obvious”

  1. @DeadTiredDavid February 17, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    This probably connects with all. It is a well-done telling of the everybody-has-it-better-than-I-do theme. You walk down the street and see a couple walking arm-in-arm, smiling, seemingly having fun and the first thought is: “OMG, why can’t I have that?”

    The reality of that couple most likely is extremely different. That snapshot you saw might be the only time they’ve been happy in weeks. Maybe they are just good friends. Could one of them be a libidinous cheat?

    Everybody who cares to notice them will assign their own emotions to the couple — a great point for taking things at face value — two persons walking down the street together. But, then, you wouldn’t have a story 🙂

    • ConnieMaria February 25, 2012 at 5:11 am #

      David! Where ya been? 🙂

      You always make valid points. 😀 I completely see what you’re saying. No one truly knows what is happening in the relationship – except the parties involved….and even then it can get sketchy. 😛

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. The Hook February 21, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I’m sure he meant well – maybe!

    • ConnieMaria February 25, 2012 at 5:08 am #

      I’m sure he did – I may have overreacted lol

  3. bermudaonion (Kathy) February 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    My nephew calls it Single’s Awareness Day too. Hopefully next year’s will be better.

    • ConnieMaria February 25, 2012 at 5:09 am #

      Lol it’s easier to handle when calling it Single’s Awareness Day 😉 Thanks so much Kathy!

Leave a Reply

