Cop – Out

3 Mar

I had never thought about what it would be like to date a cop. I assumed it would be like dating any type of professional.

Luckily for me, the opportunity arose to meet a coppa a while back (from a dating site —- naturally).

As usual, the conversation online was satisfying. He seemed to be well-rounded, funny, smart, etc. All the qualities I prefer.

Now, the date plan was happy hour. We’re sitting at an outside bar chatting away (the beauty of South Florida – outside bars are the best all year round!). No awkward pauses. It was easy.

Some of the things he said threw me off guard, though. I could tell he was the type of guy that had to have it his way all the time. Damn….I’m like that too. Two people with that same mannerism? Dangerous. Destructive! Lol 😀

I had determined the probability of this working out to be 20%.

To add to my evaluation of the coppa, my boss had this theory that all cops were big drinkers. In fact, she insisted they are notorious for being alcoholics. I was a tad bit annoyed that she would bring that up but you know, she was just trying to help.

I was sure to test that theory, by the way. He had 4 drinks (I think it was vodka) to my one beer. I had 2 beers.

Disclaimer: I am not a big drinker (most of the time) and I do admit that I was drinking pretty slowly but only because I was talking so much. It was a first date after all. And I was a little nervous.

Basically the theory looked to be true. But then again he’s only one person. And I was sure his job was a rough one at times. Maybe he was having a lousy week…

Anywho four hours later I made up an excuse to leave. I had homework to do…not really. But first dates are exhausting!!!

I was sure he liked me. And I probably would have agreed to a second date even though I didn’t think we’d really make it far…

Except I never heard from him again. Can’t say I was upset – just a little surprised. 😀 Still had an okay time though. 🙂

4 Responses to “Cop – Out”

  1. bermudaonion (Kathy) March 3, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    The only cop I know well isn’t a big drinker. It sounds like this one wasn’t meant to be.

    • ConnieMaria March 3, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Yeah – i’m not sure how valid that theory was. 😀 Eh you’re right – not meant to be. On to the next, my friend! 🙂 Thanks for the view & comment Kathy!!!

  2. Crystal March 4, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    My husband is a police officer. He is not a big drinker and some of his friends aren’t either but a lot of them are. It’s the stress if the job. Another thing is a lot of cops are ex-military and if you know any servicemen, they are usually heavy drinkers too.

    • ConnieMaria March 4, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Hi Crystal! I can definitely see why a cop would (or could) become an avid drinker. It can’t be an easy job to handle. I happen to know a serviceman – my older brother. lol Alright – so the theory may be substantial. Haha. Thanks for the visit! 😀

Leave a Reply

