Chef – Part One

10 Mar

This one is a real dooooozy. (<–Haha – everytime I say that I think of Groundhog Day. 😀 …. Just sayin…moving on now…)

I met Chef #1 on MySpace believe it or not…some 6 years ago. That was when MySpace was booming. It was right after I had broken off my engagement (I was about 24).

When I met him in person I felt like the women do in chick flicks. Walking on air. I was completely sold on our first date. Instantly infatuated. God I was so in love it was ridiculous! (#Fool)

All those silly things people do while in love – yeah I did all of that crap (naa I’m not bitter or anything :D). The mushy text messages. The little surprises. I walked around with a cheesy smile. This guy was the One. Finally!!! My parents wouldn’t have to worry about me anymore. Haha! 🙂

He was an amazing chef. Cute. Smart. Even his credit was impeccable! Really – perfect guy in my grasp!  The cherry on top? He was so romantic:

  • One night he played Chef and planned a surprise dinner for me with a personalized menu and romantic music playing in the background.
  • He would bring home balloons shaped into various animals for me (they had a balloon maker dude at the country club he worked at).
  • Valentines dinner. The night was perfect. Dinner at a little French restaurant and dancing at Blue Martini after. Nuff said.
  • He asked me to visit him at work and surprised me with white chocolate covered strawberries. One of my favorites.
  • He bought a keepsake box for me to keep memories of us.
  • When I would stay over his house, on the mornings I had to leave for work, he would make me chocolate flavored coffee with whipped cream on top.

This guy was it. I had never been so sure in my life – not even this sure about my ex-fiance (sorry dude).

Most. Perfect. Relationship. Ever.

Of course all good things must come to an end.

Pretty soon my apartment lease was up and I moved 20 minutes north to stay with my parents until I could figure things out. That’s when he graduated to being a complete ass. He rarely returned my calls and when we spoke we’d end up arguing. I knew something was going on with him but he would deny anything was wrong and basically made me feel like I was mental.

 

Let me just say that women know when something is up. Sure I’d been in relationships before this one but there’s no manual for what to do when your boyfriend starts acting like a jerk-face. 😀

Okay maybe there is…somewhere on Google…but I was in some kind of stun-mode. All I could think was No! Not this time. This is it. He’s ‘the one.’

The phone calls occurred less and less and he was so rude. I knew it was going to be over but he wouldn’t give me a reason for the oncoming break-up.

Problem was he was a weak coward and refused to say, “I’m breaking up with you, Connie.” Instead he said, “I think you know what’s happening here.”

Then, to clear up any unspoken issues he had, he resorted to writing a two page email of what exactly he felt was wrong with me. Now I kind of wish I would’ve kept it so I could post it here! 🙂

Here are just a few things he just couldn’t stand about me:

  • He didn’t like how I talked about people.
  • I curse too much.
  • I’m not ambitious enough.

I remember one night he yelled at me for wearing a jean miniskirt to Blockbuster (*sigh* I miss Blockbuster). First of all, its South Florida – jean skirts are completely normal. Second. I was just trying to look cute for him. Third – it was almost 11 at night and hardly anyone was around. And lastly – I was wearing a hoodie and flip-flops – I was far from looking hooker-ish.

When I got out of the car I guess I wasn’t as graceful as I had tried to be…the whole way through Blockbuster he lectures me and says “What do you think people think of you when you dress like that.” To which my response was something to the effect of “I don’t give a fuck what people think of me.”

I remember feeling as if my whole world was going to collapse. When you’re broken up with you don’t exactly get a chance to say everything – to defend yourself against the accusations. To say, “Hey! Wait! You’re making a big mistake!”

Anywho – there was so much more to the story but this covers it enough, I believe. 😉

I have a few choice words for this guy and I do normally curse a lot but…my mom reads this blog (Hi Mom! Love you! <3)…so you can use your imagination with those words.

In the end … once I passed the heartache phase which lasted for quite some time, I think I was proud of myself for not changing for him. My flaws are my flaws. Take ’em or leave ’em, guys.

He got married, if I remember correctly, a year or so after we broke up. 

7 Responses to “Chef – Part One”

  1. The Hook March 11, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    So incredibly sad…
    But at least you bounced back and you’re now setting WordPress on fire with your dating tales!

    • ConnieMaria March 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks Hook 🙂 Eh it was sad when it happened but you know with every experience (especially the sucky ones) you learn something new about yourself. 😀 Thats what I’m going with lol oh and like you said – its material for the blog! Yeah! 🙂 I’ve gotta catch up on your blog this weekend!

  2. Frederick Brooke March 11, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    He got married a year ago, and has he let her out of the basement yet? Has she ever been seen again? You made the right move. More stories please!

    • ConnieMaria March 14, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      LOL you are so funny Fred! 😛

    • chef jerk May 19, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      happily married and thats not how the story went down!!!

  3. Xiomara Maldonado March 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    He sounds like a very controlling man. It’s too bad, his flaws outweighed the good things about him. You certainly deserve better!

    • ConnieMaria March 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Thank you so much Xiomara 🙂 Really nice of you to say! And thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

