A Somewhat Recent Date

2 Jun

Hello! 🙂 I apologize for my absence but it really was for good reasons!

1. Work is crazy. We moved to a new office and the work volume has increased naturally.

2. I finally finished writing my book and ever since it’s been Edit, Edit, Edit!

Soooooooooo …. time to get back into the swing of things. 🙂

I sort of recently went on a date. At this point I think the date was like two months ago…I dont remember.

But anyways – was I nervous? A tad bit.

Was I afraid? Yes.

This guy – let’s call him ……. J.

J has no hair. I know I know – you’re most likely thinking “Get past the hair obsession, Connie!”

I can’t help it … I’m sorry guys.

Despite the baldness I decided to give J a chance. We had emailed for weeks on POF and he never pressured me to meet him right away. He didn’t beg for my number. He didn’t get mad if I didn’t email him back right away. He has a great job. He’s close with his family.

All promising signs!! 🙂

Given the multitude of pros I decided a date would be the appropriate next step – despite him not having a head full of hair (someday I’ll try to get over that).

We decided to meet after work one day. I was running late (as always) and he was fine with it. Since I was going to be late he drove over to the beach to take a peek at the moon (pause for ‘awwww’).

With our timing being out of sync I got there about 20 minutes before him.

What calms nerves? Liquor.

I bee-lined to the outside bar which was empty! Good. Perfect atmosphere to accommodate my anti-social self.

I ordered my grapefruit and vodka and lit up a smoke. Ah this is nice, I thought. The bartender chick was really nice so we were chatting it up watching out for my date-to-be.

There was a long path that led to the bar that the bartender dubbed as the ‘catwalk.’

As J approached we both stared at him which, yeah, made him feel a bit uncomfortable. (haha)

I love to sit at an outside bar but he really wanted to sit inside one of the adjacent restaurants. Alright, I gave in. Compromise.

First we took a walk around the entire place (good thing I wore my comfortable heels…) and it was humid! I tried to sweat gracefully. At some point I just stopped trying to wipe the sweat off my face discreetly.

Finally we settled in at a Latin joint. I ordered a massive mojito (really the glass was so tall that I had to move it to the side so it wouldn’t obstruct my view of J).

Annnnd that’s when I learned he didn’t drink. A bit awkward because I was on my second round and a little buzzed (**lightweight**). Oops.

We ordered one app and one dessert to share. Everything was delicious. The date was going well. We had a lot in common and there were no awkward pauses – we never stopped talking.

He walked me to my car afterward and I patiently awaited the second date request but … nothing.

No handshake.

No hug.

No kiss on the cheek.

No second date.

I admit – my ego was bruised.

Oh wait – he did say I was funny. 😐 To which I replied: yes that happens when I drink.

Doh! 

Anywho – to wrap this up I quickly realized that J was looking for a text buddy because he text me every day (more than a few times a day) with idol chit-chat stuff. Noooooo phone calls. No asking to see me again.

After about 3 or 4 days of that crap I stopped responding.

And that was the end of that.

Boo on you, J.

13 Responses to “A Somewhat Recent Date”

  1. susielindau June 2, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Welcome back! Another golden tale of dating hell!

    • ConnieMaria June 2, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      Thank you! 😀 Good to be back. I know I have a lot of catching up to do on your blog missy. 🙂

  2. Pete Denton June 2, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Welcome back. No hair is a good thing! (says someone who shaves his head)

    Congratulations on finishing your book. Editing always takes time so happy tinkering.

    • ConnieMaria June 2, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      Lol I thought of you Pete when I wrote this post. Hopefully you’re not offended? 😛 You’ll still stop by right? Lol

      And thank you! 😉 The tinkering will be fun.

      • Pete Denton June 2, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

        Hahaha, no I’m not offended.

      • ConnieMaria June 2, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

        Whew! Good 😀

  3. Anonymous June 3, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Damn! I love your stories, just sorry for the wear and tear!

  4. Fred Brooke June 3, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    That anon above was me, pressed the wrong button I guess …

    • ConnieMaria June 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Lol heyyyy Fred – I’m glad you enjoy the stories. Despite the wear & tear (love that btw) the stories are something to laugh at. 😀 Now…..can you please tell me where my Prince Charming is?! 😉

  5. 4amWriter June 4, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    OMG, this is really funny but disappointing at the same time. I’m married to a bald-ish man (emphasize -ish to bolster his ego) and I have to say I thought it would bother me, but because he likes to say “hair is there, but skin is in” I figure I can give him a chance, lol.

    The texting thing is weird, and I am glad you knew it wasn’t going anywhere fast. Texting? I don’t get it. What’s so great about texting? (Am I showing my age?)

    Happy you finished your book. Editing is better than lousy dating 🙂

    • ConnieMaria June 6, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Hi again! 🙂 Glad you got a laugh out of it. Disappointing – yes. We have a great time and then nada. *sigh* At least dinner was delicious. Lol.

      Still laughing at the “hair is there, but skin is in” – I love it! hahaha!

      I’m a big time texter but the way I see it is – if you really are interested and you really want to know me – then you would call. Right? That’s my take on it. 😀

      Thank you so much – editing is challenging but I’m enjoying it anyways. 🙂 🙂

  6. natasiarose June 6, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    I hate when people don’t want to sit at an outside bar when it’s nice out! we have all winter to sit inside. & congrats on finishing your book! I’m still working on mine 🙂

    • ConnieMaria June 15, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Hi Natasiarose 🙂 For real – that’s what I say! I’m stuck working in a building all week long – why not enjoy the evening air (especially if it’s not humid). And thank you for the congrats! Good luck to you 😉

Leave a Reply

