He just had to…

17 Jun

After neglecting my Plenty of Fish account for approximately one month (maybe longer) I figured it was time to catch up on my messages and see what was new and stimulating in the e-dating world.

Most of the emails were dull but this one wasnt too shabby – up until the end at least.

I highlighted the line I had a slight issue with in blue…and I bolded the words…and then I underlined them too. Something tells me you wont miss it. 😀 

Hi, how are you? I’m Rey. Straight up, I’m not sure what I’m looking for but I want to meet new people, eswpecially those that show they have brains, priorities and their life together. I’m tired of dating girls and I’m in need of a woman in my life.

He needs a woman – I am a woman – How convenient!

About me, I’m 6’1 from Puerto Rico. I speak perfect Spanish and English. I have 2 siblings, (older) I am the youngest. I’m 30 years old. My family is the biggest and most imoportant thing in my life. I strive for perfection and happiness in life and I dont settle for anything less.

I completely agree – family is important. He seems ambitious. That’s an admirable trait.

Like I said Im not sure what I’m looking forr but I know I want to meet new people and broaden my horizons a bit. I know how much fun I can be and how much more fun it can all be if I had the right person next to me. Weather it is my girlfriend or not a guy friend or a total stranger. I share everything with everyone, even if they dont deserve it. YOu cant take everything with you so why hold on to it. My philosophy is be yourself have fun and enjoy life.

Sharing is caring. Good philosophy.

I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you. It would be nice being that i put some effort in. lol Take care and have a good night.

Now, it might just be the snob in me but what the heck? He just had to say that? 

And he believes I should reward him for his efforts?

Here, have a virtual cookie on my behalf, Rey Rey. 🙂

Whether he was joking or not – I’m thinking no.

Is this really the 2012 version of chivalry?

11 Responses to “He just had to…”

  1. John Garrett June 18, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Hello fellow Triberr mate!

    Oh man, Plenty of Fish! I had an account there like two years ago. Good times. Sort of.

    Anyway, I never wrote anything like that, suggesting that I was owed a response. Although I can somewhat sympathize. I read a lot of the “suggestions” at the time of how to break through the clutter and get a girl’s attention when writing a message.

    Honestly, it was a little more work that I was willing to do lol. I preferred to just chill and not over think things. I showed my personality in my emails and waited for the flood of women to break down my door.

    It never came. Aw,shucks.

    Some women said I was too corny. Some said I looked like a cartoon and wore the same clothes all the time. Not much I can do about that.

    I also seemed to run into a lot of angry people. Did you ever go into the forums? People are PISSED. They can’t find anyone and the frustration really comes through. I feel bad for many of them I wish everyone could find “the one”, but I don’t think these dating sites are doing the job anymore (if they ever truly did).

    Anyway, my profile was set up for “Friendship” since that’s all I was in for. Seems like the only women contacting me were the ones telling me I shouldn’t be there for friendship because that’s not what women want. Wow. It was an option for my profile so that’s what I selected (it might not be any longer, I haven’t been there for a couple of years).

    It was an interesting experiment. Seems like it always goes down like this:

    Contact girl I’m interested in:
    Her response: Hell no.

    Girl is interested in me and contacts me:
    My response: Hell no.

    Ain’t that always the way..?

    Sorry for the super-long comment, hope all is well! 🙂

    • ConnieMaria June 18, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      Hi John 🙂 I appreciate the comment no matter how long it is!! 😀 That is too funny. Yeah sometimes I’m skeptical about the whole online dating thing but it really is entertaining. And ‘Friendship’ is still an option – just so you know. Lol 😉 I’ve actually met a few guys on POF that had the ‘Friendship’ option on their profile and they were fun to chat with. We never met and never spoke of dating. They were just nice to talk to. 🙂 So, did you finally meet the one? 😀 Is there a happy ending somewhere in your story? 🙂

      • ConnieMaria June 18, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

        Okay – I think I overdid it with the smilies. Lol. Sorry!

      • John Garrett June 19, 2012 at 10:08 am #

        Lol well I didn’t meet “the one”, but I’m not really looking for all that either, which is why I chose the friend option.

        And there was a happy ending. I deleted my account. ha! ba-dump-bump! ((((rimshot))))

        You’re right that the whole dance is entertaining up to a point, I hope you continue to have fun with it!

      • ConnieMaria June 20, 2012 at 9:38 am #

        Hahaha that is a suitable ending. 🙂 I was having fun with it but it’s honestly just boring lately. Thanks for stopping by again. 😀

  2. Stuart Nager June 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    “I know how much fun I can be and how much more fun it can all be if I had the right person next to me. Weather it is my girlfriend or not a guy friend or a total stranger.”

    Ok…grammar/spelling police time.

    Whether, not weather. Read that sentence out loud, homonym or not. Actually, read most of his letter out loud. It’s actually very funny.

    Forget that boy and find another!! 😉

    • ConnieMaria June 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      Haha! Right?! Mispelling is a huge pet peeve of mine. I’m more forgiving with grammar. 😀 On to the next silly boy. Thanks for the comment, Stuart 🙂

  3. Imelda Evans June 24, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Actually he lost me when he claimed to speak English ‘perfectly’. Even without the lack of spelling and grammar skills, it’s overstatement. But yes, wanting credit for making an effort? A little like saying ‘be grateful I spoke to you’. I think not…

    • ConnieMaria June 25, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      I agree 100%! 🙂 Thank you, Imelda! 😉

  4. The Hook July 2, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Virtual cookies rule!
    Rey Rey? Not so much…

    • ConnieMaria July 2, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

      Cookies in general RULE! Specifically white chocolate macadamia nut cookies…i’m just saying… 😀 Thanks for the comment, Hook 😉

Leave a Reply

